Katimavik Day of Action – Volunteer / Journée d'action Katimavik – Bénévoles

Protest through volunteerism / Protestation par le bénévolat

A Call to Canada to Support Katimavik

There are a number of Katimavik events requiring your support over the coming months.

Below you will find:

  • Crossing Canada for Katimavik
  • Katimavik in our Communities
  • Charmaine Borg and Motion M-352
  • Conservative MPs whose riding benefited from Katimavik volunteers

Crossing Canada for Katimavik

Occurring at this time is the Crossing Canada for Katimavik Relay which is a relay to carry a Katimavik t-shirt across the country.  Please help this non partisan, alumni initiated, event complete successfully.

Katimavik in Our Communities

To continue the battle, we need all Canadians to show support for Katimavik:

  • Katimavik Alumni
  • Community Partners
  • Supporters
  • Everyone in the Country who see Katimavik as a force for good
  • And finally Host Communities

Soon after Katimavik funding was terminated the City of Guelph Ontario passed a resolution indicating support for Katimavik and the service the program provided their community.

Other communities have joined Guelph’s lead as represented by the symbol on this map. If you live in a community that is not Sunny, please let your Mayor know you want them to support this initiative.  Let’s have the Katimavik sun rise across the country.

Motion M-352

MP Charmaine Borg has a number of events that also need support.

First Ms. Borg is doing a cross country tour to speak about the role of Katimavik in our communities.  Please show your support for this event and come out to meet her.

On September 18 she will be debating the Deputy Minister of Heritage about the importance of the program and why funding should be restored. If you can, show your support in Ottawa on that date.

Member of Parliament Party Affiliation

Member of Parliament Party Affiliation

Finally, Motion M-352 to reinstate funding will be voted on in the Fall session.  For this to pass, we need Conservative support, which is not so far-fetched if you consider that 40% of the ridings that Katimavik volunteers worked in have a Conservative Member of Parliament. That means when the ruling Conservative party voted to eliminate Katimavik funding they ultimately hurt their own constituents. We need them to listen to what people in their ridings are saying about the importance of Katimavik in their communities.

We also demand a FREE VOTE in the House of Commons on this and other issues.  MPs are there to represent the needs and desires of their constituents, not the PMO.

Please support Ms. Borg in these initiatives: http://www.longlive-katimavik.ca/

List of Conservative MPs whose Riding Benefited from Katimavik Volunteers

The following lists all Conservative MPs whose riding had Katimavik volunteers contributing to the betterment of their constituents. Please politely encourage these MPs to vote in favour of M-352.

Rob Anders 403-292-6666 rob.anders@parl.gc.ca Calgary West
Michelle Rempel 403-216-7777 Michelle.Rempel@parl.gc.ca Calgary Centre-North
Blake Richards 403-948-5103 blake.richards@parl.gc.ca Wild Rose
Jim Hillyer 403-320-0070 Jim.Hillyer@parl.gc.ca Lethbridge
LaVar Payne 403-528-4698 lavar.payne@parl.gc.ca Medicine Hat
Bob Zimmer 250-787-1194 Bob.Zimmer@parl.gc.ca Prince George—Peace River
Wai Young 604-775-5323 Wai.Young@parl.gc.ca Vancouver South
Mark Warawa 604-534-5955 mark.warawa@parl.gc.ca Langley
Mark Strahl 604-847-9711 Mark.Strahl@parl.gc.ca Chilliwack—Fraser Canyon
Richard M. Harris 250-564-7771 richard.harris@parl.gc.ca Cariboo—Prince George
Shelly Glover 204-983-3183 shelly.glover@parl.gc.ca Saint Boniface
Hon. Vic Toews 204-326-9889 vic.toews@parl.gc.ca Provencher
Robert Goguen 506-851-3310 Robert.Goguen@parl.gc.ca Moncton—Riverview—Dieppe
Hon. Peter Penashue 709-927-5210 Peter.Penashue@parl.gc.ca Labrador
Hon. Leona Aglukkaq 867-979-4193 leona.aglukkaq@parl.gc.ca Nunavut
Phil McColeman 519-754-4300 phil.mccoleman@parl.gc.ca Brant
Hon. Tony Clement 705-789-4640 tony.clement@parl.gc.ca Parry Sound—Muskoka
Bruce Stanton 705-327-0513 bruce.stanton@parl.gc.ca Simcoe North
Lois Brown 905-953-7515 lois.brown@parl.gc.ca Newmarket—Aurora
Greg Rickford 807-468-2170 greg.rickford@parl.gc.ca Kenora
John Carmichael 416-467-7275 John.Carmichael@parl.gc.ca Don Valley West
Sean Casey 902-566-7770 Sean.Casey@parl.gc.ca Charlottetown
Hon. Denis Lebel 418-275-2768 denis.lebel@parl.gc.ca Roberval—Lac-Saint-Jean
Hon. Steven Blaney 418-830-0500 steven.blaney@parl.gc.ca Lévis—Bellechasse
David Anderson 306-778-4480 david.anderson@parl.gc.ca Cypress Hills—Grasslands
Ryan Leef 867-668-6565 Ryan.Leef@parl.gc.ca Yukon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on 2012/07/22 by .


%d bloggers like this: